NEISDC Meeting Minutes August 25, 2023

DETERMINE QUORUM

In attendance is Alan Tio, Mike Watson, Steve McMichael, Bill Konyha, Richard Strick, Ron Turpin, Stephane Frijia, Travis Holdman, Ryan Twiss, Mike Vanover, Andrew Briggs, Sharon Tucker

APPROVE AGENDA

Alan Tio motioned to approve, seconded by Mike Vanover

APPROVE THE LAST MEETING MINUTES

Steven McMichael motioned to approve seconded Travis Holdman

GROUP REPORT & TIMELINES

Ron suggested gathering feedback on bringing support elements to the commission. Travis Holdman recommended expanding our efforts and partnering with the Community Foundations for help outside of Allen County. Travis Holdman also stressed that bringing on a Treasurer for the commission with internal controls requiring two signatures for all transactions. Ron tentatively proposed a "first-cut" deadline of October 15th, 2023, for an initial look at applications for prospective projects. Ron Turpin asked if we should design a master application with addendums per Sharon Tucker's recommendation or applications for each group. Stephane Frijia suggested each group submit their own application to be condensed into a master application template. Ron Turpin recommended an initial press release a few days after the state budget meeting on September 15th. Bill Konyha suggested that Ron Turpin distribute his prepared material for the state budget meeting for review and comment a few days in advance. Stephane Frijia noted a possible press release proposed timeline for the week of 19 – 23 September. Travis Holdman recommended requiring an outcome report for the application. Each group opened the floor for discussion, questions, and answers for the reports submitted for the advance materials. Richard Strick called for a motion for the conditional approval of \$500K (\$250K per vertical) for the Plug & Play Proposal Goal in support of Goal II, Strategy I & III, seconded by Steven McMichael, passed unanimously.

ITEMS FROM COMMISSION MEMBERS

None.

NEXT MEETING

September 22nd, 2023 at 3:00 pm

ADJOURN

@ 4:55 pm

RON TURPIN, CHAIRMAN NEISDC BILL KONYHA, SECRETARY NEISDC